Hello world!

For a long time I thought I had to be “perfect.”  Even though now I know that’s not true, there is still a part of me that feels guilty for not being so.  I guess that’s why “confessions.”  “Muggle” because to me that says, there is not anything special about me, I’m just your ordinary gal (and, obviously, Harry Potter fan!).  “Mom,” because being a Mom is what consumes most of my time and energy these days.  So here we are, “Confessions of a Muggle Mom.” 

A spot to unload my daily thoughts in the hopes that I can go through my days a little more clear-headed.  This is a big step for me because in the past I have kept my journaling private.  I still am not ready to totally put myself out there, and that’s why for now I will just be Muggle Mom (MM).  My dear husband of 20 years shall be known as my Muggle Man.  Our 13 year old son is “Ron” and our eight year old daughter is “Ginny.”  And our big, fat, crazy cat is “Crookshanks.” 😀

The topics that run through my head the most include (in no particular order):  Harry Potter, Twilight, reality TV fluff, exercise, reading, cooking, baking, eating, my faith, losing weight via Medifast, my home-based business, my son’s issues (ADHD/Asperger’s/High Functioning Autism),  dealing with my mother’s Alzheimer’s, decluttering/organizing, and learning to blog.  I figure that after a while I’ll end up focusing on just a few of those and I’m interested to see which ones. 

Please feel free to comment via Twitter @realmugglemom.

I’ve been putting off this Very First Post for a long time but am finally jumping in with both feet and am going to Just Do It.  I must say, even though I know it’s not a very good post, it feels great just to have it typed out and finished.  Plus now things can only get better from here, right?  (I hope?!).

