Lean on Me

Lately I have had an awful tickle in my throat and barking cough. Last night they were keeping me awake and I got up to take some medicine. Whilst waiting for the medicine to kick in, I wandered around the dark house.

The sight of the darkened house, with light from the moon and street lamps streaming in the windows, took me back to my early childhood. When I was a toddler/preschooler and I couldn’t sleep, my Dad would pick me up and carry me, with my head on his shoulder, around the house until I fell asleep. I realized that my memories of these “Walkabouts” were also my earliest memories of feeling safe and secure.

I also realized that, as I once leaned against my father’s shoulder, I now need to support him with mine. As my mother’s full-time caregiver he is carrying a massive burden. I must do what I can to help him and be there for him. I must do the right thing, even when it is not the easy thing.

Lord, I can’t thank you enough for the amazing, Godly man I am honored to call father. Help me to be the daughter he and my mother need me to be during this time of crisis. I feel so powerless against this horrible disease and I look to You for strength and guidance. Amen.

