Training for My First 5K – Day 1

Treadmill  Workout

Image by sirwiseowl via Flickr

I am training for a 5K that will take place on Saturday, March 19.  I have done the “Couch to 5K” program before and found it very helpful (though I didn’t go all the way through it, I think I got up to at least week 7 of the workouts, maybe a bit further – can’t remember how many total weeks there are).  Before the Couch to 5K program, I pretty much hated running,  just didn’t like it at all.  It’s still not my favorite workout or thing to do but it makes a nice change of pace and since going through that program I *know* that I can run, it really increased my confidence.

This time I am following this program:  http://hubpages.com/hub/A6weekworkoutplanforyourfirst5K

This is  six-week program, which is the perfect time frame for me.  You can train using either time, distance, or both.  Since I have a specific distance I want to run (5K!), I’m using the distance program.  Week One says to run 1/2 mile, three times.  Today was my first run.  I think it  went really well.

First I went to a Rep Reebok (free weight) class at my health club, then got on the treadmill.  I walked for 5 minutes, then ran a 1/2 mile at a 15 minute mile pace.  I ran the whole time, no walking.  Walked 5 minutes for a cooldown.  My total for both the walking and the running was 1.03 miles.  I don’t feel like I got winded and I felt good, though I was “feeling” the run in my calves by the end and have the feeling they will be sore tomorrow (or later today!?).

I will need to get a good pair of running shoes.  I wanted to be sure I am really going to do this before sinking the $$ into a pair, though, so for now I am using my Nike Shox cross-trainers.

The other piece of this is that my husband is a runner, he’s really gotten into in the past couple of years and has run several races includeing two marathons.  The 5K is something I’ve wanted to do even before he started running, and I know it’s silly but I don’t want him to think I’m doing the 5K because *he’s* running, if you know what I mean.  I also don’t really want him telling me what to do!  So, for now I’m trying to keep my training on the down low.  Not covering up, but not volunteering info.  I do think he’ll be very pleased when he finds out and I think it will be a nice surprise for him.

I’ll be updating my progress along the way.  Feel free to give me any tips, corrections or encouragement via my Twitter account, @RealMuggleMom.

2 thoughts on “Training for My First 5K – Day 1

Comments are closed.