5K Training – Second Run Report

I found out that in addition to the 5K race I’m training for & the 10K race (which I am not interested in) there is a 1 mile “Fun Run.”. This encouraged me because if nothing else I’m sure I can do that.

This morning I “hit the gym” hard. I started off with a class called “Hips, Abs, Thighs” (H.A.T.). This class is a combination of Pilates, core work, and stretching. It really put me through my paces.

After class I got on the treadmill and did a 5-minute walking warm-up, 1/2 mile run, and 5-minute walking cool-down. I ran at a slightly slower place than my first run (15-min mile pace), I think it was a 15:47 minute mile pace. I *think* the run felt a tad easier than on Wednesday.

After my run I did the weight machine circuit. Not sure when the last time I did this was and it felt really good to be doing it.

I did all this right after taking the kids to school. As the day has gone on, I’ve been having some pain in my lower legs when I walk. I looked up “shin splints” and think that may be my problem :-/

I’m icing the areas right now and will stretch at intervals the rest of the day. I really don’t want my training to get derailed just as I’m beginning! I guess I’d also better suck it up and get fitted for some proper running shoes.

Leave a Reply

