Running Red-Faced: Rosacea

Rasacee couperose zones

Image via Wikipedia

I don’t have an official diagnosis of Rosacea, but I learned about it when my mother was diagnosed several years ago and I decided that I probably have it, too.  It didn’t bother me much other than the occasional flushing after drinking a glass of wine.  However, last year as I got into a fairly challenging TurboKick class at my gym, I found myself getting rather red-faced during class.  It would last for a while after class, sometimes for several hours, and sometimes I’d have burning and/or itching and/or tingling on my cheeks throughout the day afterward.  After reading up I started taking breaks during class to wet a paper towel with cold water from the water fountain and wipe off my face and the back of my neck.  This seemed to help enough to keep my face from getting too red, and to keep the effects from lingering.

However, once I started training for my 5K, the problem flared up again (no pun intended!).  Once I started running more than 1/2 a mile at a time, my face would get very hot, beet red, and stay that way for quite a while.  I found a couple of things helped.  One was to choose a treadmill where one of the ceiling fans was blowing directly onto me.  We have a few leftover “chill towels” from one of my husband’s sporting events and I would wet a couple of them and put them in a plastic zipper bag with some ice cubes.  As I started to get warm, I would hold one of these against my face and/or hang it around my neck.  After my workout I would hold one up to my face for a while in addition to washing my face off with cool water.

After my post-workout shower I would lightly moisturize my face with Artistry Essentials Soothing Creme.  According to the Artistry website the creme features:

  •      Exclusive Artistry Soothing Complex featuring Black Bamboo, Licorice, and Blue Lotus Flower to soothe, quiet, and address the visible signs of irritated skin and maintain skin’s normal moisture barrier function
  •             Vitamins A, C, E, and B5 nourish, fortify, clarify, protect and balance skin
  •             Chia and Borage supplement the skin with essentials fatty acids
  •             Works day and night to optimize moisture balance
  •             Ideal for all skin types and safe for sensitive skin

This is a very lightweight cream and I liked the way that it hydrated my skin without feeling thick or greasy or causing any more “trauma” (for lack of a better word for the redness, stinging, etc.).  It didn’t automatically make the redness and discomfort go away but gently applying it did feel soothing.  I’ve been using and selling Artistry products for over 20 years so I felt safe applying this to my face.

Recently I purchased a product called “Ultracalming Mist.”  It is made by dermalogica and I purchased it at Ulta.  According to the label it is “Recommended for sensitized, reactive and recently resurfaced skin.”  It is described as:

A soothing and hydrating mist that quickly relieves sensitivity while helping to calm redness, stingin and aggravated skin. Our exclusive UltraCalming Complex contains Oat and botanical actives that work below the surface to interrupt inflammatory triggers that lead to sensitization, while helping to minimize discomfort, burning and itching.  Oat and Giner actives combined with Bisabolol and Boerhavia Root Extract work synergistically to relieve and restore skin while fighting future flare-ups.  Soothing Aloe helps calm while correcting the moisture level imbalance that can provoke sensitized skin. 

I haven’t been running recently so so far I have just used the mist when I’ve been hot from just being outside, it feels refreshing but I don’t know if it’s really had any “effects.”  I’m planning to start doing some running again, though, so I’ll report on whether or not the mist seems to help.

I hope that this information will be helpful to others who may be experiencing these issues.  I’d love to hear any tips others might like to share, please Tweet me @realmugglemom.

One thought on “Running Red-Faced: Rosacea

Comments are closed.