Gastritis 

Last Friday I was preparing to go out of town with Muggle Man and Ginny – she was cheering at a basketball tournament and Muggle Man had a barbershop rehearsal on Saturday.  All was fine until around lunchtime, when I started feeling queasy.

The queasiness grew until I started to get that feeling that I might throw up.  I lay down in hopes that the queasiness would subside while I tried to figure out what could be causing the problem.  My first thought was migraine, but there have been a lot of stomach bugs going around so that was also a possibility.  I wondered if I would have to stay home from our trip.

The queasiness kind of came and went so I decided I’d give the trip a try.  If I ended up in bed the whole time, so be it.  

Long story short, I made it through the weekend OK.  However, Monday morning I was still queasy.  Ugh, really?!  I was going to give it one more day then realized that I was scheduled to work the rest of the week and didn’t really *have* one more day, so I called the doctor.

The doctor determined that I have gastritis, brought on by stress and taking too much Advil.  She asked if I had had an increase in my stress level recently.  “Well, two weeks ago my son was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes, plus we are trying to figure out where he is going to go to college.” (Let’s not even mention the month-long most recent craziness/snafus/mess-ups with our mortgage account or Ginny’s early AM and Muggle Man’s late night E/R visits!!).  “That would do it!” she smiled ruefully.



I was instructed to avoid Advil/Aleve, caffeine, alcohol, and decongestants.  My Zantac prescription was refilled.  Blood was taken for bloodwork and a just-in-case ultrasound of the gallbladder scheduled.



A week later, I’m finally starting to feel better.  It helps that we’ve had snow days where I could stay home and take it easy.  Its been frustrating, though, not knowing when I will be feeling like myself again.  A couple of times I’ve just cried.  I’m ready for this to be over, though – and, after going through all this I’d better at least lose some weight!!

Leave a Reply

